Skip to main content

Bocas del Toro Bocas del Toro is the most popular Caribbean province of Panama

The Bocas del Toro province ("The mouths of the bull") is in the northwest of Panama, near the border with Costa Rica. The archipelago comprises six islands, Isla Colon, Isla Bastimentos, Isla Solarte, Cayos Zapatillas, San Cristobal, Popa and many smaller islands. Is divided Bocas again into three subordinate districts (distritos), Bocas del Toro, Changuinola and Chiriqui Grande. Bocas del Toro is Panama City, one of the most popular destinations from Panama tourists, including many sports enthusiasts. On Bocas everyone gets their money. Especially the same Provinzhauptsadt Bocas Town is located on Isla Colon and has evolved in recent years into a commercial center. Apart from the many tourists, there is also the "Ngöbe Bugle" -Territorium, which is one of five indigenous territories in Panama. The territory includes large parts of the province and is considered since 1997 as an autonomous province. The area around Bocas is predominantly inhabited by Caribbean immigrants, blacks and indigenous tribes. This is particularly noticeable in the construction of the houses, which were built mainly of wood, bamboo and other natural materials. The province experienced special notoriety because they acted as a location of Latin American "Survivor" season. Furthermore, it is continuously venue for international surfing Events.

Bocas del Toro Travel